Archive for November 15th, 2012

November 15, 2012

New Course at IGHR: The Five Civilized Tribes

In June 2013, the Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research will have a new course, called “The Five Civilized Tribes: The Records & Where to Find Them.” I ran into the course coordinator Linda Woodward Geiger on my last trip to the Georgia Archives. During our conversation, Linda told me that she had been asked to put together this course, but I didn’t think it would be available so soon.

Lectures in this course will be taught by Linda and six other instructors, including Rachal Mills Lennon, author of Tracing Ancestors Among the Five Civilized Tribes, and Craig Roberts Scott, a well-known expert on military research and the President and CEO of Heritage Books, Inc., just to name the two researchers whose work I am most familiar with. The other lecturers also have impressive backgrounds, but don’t take my word for it. Go look at the course page and see for yourself what wonderful offerings Linda has put together with such a diverse group of lecturers.

And be sure to reserve January 22, 2013 on your calendar. That’s the day registration for IGHR 2013 begins, and you don’t want to miss it, as this course is sure to fill quickly.

November 15, 2012

MawMaw’s Refrigerator Rolls

A few days ago, I mentioned my grandmother’s rolls, a treat she always made at Thanksgiving and Easter. I’m speaking of my maternal grandmother, Ruth (Anderson) Ledford. When I was young, my mother and grandmothers taught me to cook, and it turns out I had a knack for breads. I say “had” because I don’t have the time to keep my hand in, although I do enjoy it so, especially the finished product.

Thanksgiving meals in our family require these rolls. I’m pretty sure that everyone would forego the turkey before doing without the rolls. When my mother’s large, extended family gathers for the holiday, I am always asked to bring a batch or two. I sometimes think that’s as much from nostalgia as from the tastiness of the rolls.

This recipe is time-consuming, but otherwise easy. If you don’t have space in the refrigerator, a cold room will do, as long as the dough is loosely covered. A clean dish towel works well for that purpose. Be sure to make these in a bowl that’s big enough to handle the rising dough.

Continue Reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers